House of Duty: Frank Underwood Gives You A Call

Ladies and gentlemen….take a gander:

This little gem greeted me this morning as I logged into check how things have been going.

Everyone knows my feelings about Call of Duty. I think the series is excessive, repetitive and just a money-milking cash cow for Activision.

But…

Not everyone knows my feelings…

About Kevin…freakin’…Spacey.

Man-crush.

Spacey is one of my favourite actors and I am pretty excited that they’ve gotten him into a game, even if it is Call of Duty. I suppose only Activision would have the kind of muscle and charm needed to snag someone of his caliber. The fact that he seems to be an exact copy of his character from House of Cards even heightens the appeal.

Despite the explosion exhaustion I tend to feel with CoD, I have to say that their last two or three games have seemed to focus on the notion that the citizenry of any nation doesn’t want the lofty promises that the concept of democracy offers. The grandiose voice-over Spacey gives as the trailer plays follows a similar line to previous titles, that well, here the USA is trying to police the world and maybe the world doesn’t need policing. This is a debate that raged in the majority of my classes at university, particularly because I started my degree courses a month before the 9-11 attacks. So much of humanity’s horrific periods can be attributed to people/nations wanting to “fix” other people/nations. The slave trade, the spread of Christianity, ethnic cleansing in Serbia, Middle East wars based on bringing “democracy” to the world at large…unfortunately, some of these things aren’t broken…so how much longer are certain nations going to continue to try and “fix” them, thus making a pile of enemies along the way?

I’m not saying that Activision’s gone all Bioware on us, with “The More You Know” messages littered throughout their game. But wouldn’t that be nice?

Still though guys! KEVIN SPACEY! Will you be getting CoD: Advanced Warfare?

Leave a Reply

